New Page 1

About the Dr. SKM Scholarship


Some friends of SKM located all over the world decided to set up the Dr. SK Mukherjee Memorial Scholarship in memory of the brilliant scientist and great human being. This project was mooted over the Internet by some of his friends and collections towards the scholarships were begun in 2003.

It was decided that a Foundation be set up for the purpose of collection of the funds and donations were invited from all SKM's friends. The idea was to set up a prestigious scholarship at the College of Agriculture, Pantnagar with a view to identifying and rewarding the best all-round student at the College of Agriculture. This student would be from the second year of B.Sc. Ag  program and should have excelled in academics as well as co-curricular activities at the College. The marks scored in the first and second semester would serve as the basis for the evaluating the potential candidates', academic prowess while proof of participation in many extra-curricular activities on the university campus would be sought from those intending to apply for the Scholarship. Due consideration will also be given to the family income of the potential awardee.

The Scholarship Amount:

The Scholarship amount would be Rs. 1,100 per month and would be payable for all twelve months of the year. It is expected that the Scholarship amount will cover the awardee's Tuition, Board and Lodge fees on the campus of the GBPUAT. The awardee shall receive this amount for the entire duration (from the date of award) of his/her B.Sc. Ag program at Pantnagar. He/She shall also receive a citation which shall be presented at a formal ceremony organised by the alumni of the College of Agriculture, Pantnagar.

Selection procedure:

The Dr. SKM Scholar shall be selected every year from eligible applicants who respond to a notification by the Dean, College of Agriculture inviting applications for the Scholarship. Applications will be accepted online ( from all eligible students and after scrutiny by a Scholarship Committee constituted by the Vice Chancellor, GBPUAT and Dean, College of Agriculture a short list shall be prepared. All students short-listed by the Scholarship Committee shall be interviewed by a Panel constituted for the purpose and the award shall be made at a special function organised at the University.